• TASC Exam

    New York State has chosen the Test Assessing Secondary Completion™ (TASC) for the High School Equivalency exam beginning January 2014. Passing the TASC exam is one way adults and out-of-school youth who did not finish high school can get a high school equivalency diploma. In New York State, the GED® test is no longer the path to a high school equivalency diploma.


    Any New York State resident, 19 years of age or older, and without a high school diploma or HSE diploma can take the HSE exam. For the rules about eligibility to take the HSE test for people under 19 years of age, please contact the TST BOCES Adult Education office.


    The TASC exam includes five sections: reading, writing, mathematics, science and social studies. The TASC exam takes about nine hours to complete and is typically administered on multiple days. Individuals must pass all five sections to receive a High School Equivalency Diploma.

    GED® Test Scores

    Passing scores from previous GED® tests will count toward passing the TASC exam.

Exam Dates

  • See announcement below

    Call 607-257-1561 or email slatorre@tstboces.org to apply.

    "State Education Department Selects Contractor for the High School Equivalency (HSE) Exam The New York State Education Department (NYSED) is pleased to announce that it has contracted with GED Testing Service (GEDTS) for the provision of the GED® Test, which will serve as the NYS High School Equivalency (HSE) exam, beginning January 1, 2022. The GED® Test is a well-recognized test of the academic knowledge and skills needed for college and career readiness as defined by NYSED standards for adult education. The GED is currently used in over 40 states and had served as the NYSED HSE exam from the 1940s – 2013, when the Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC Test™) was adopted. The Data Recognition Corporation (DRC) is discontinuing the TASC Test ™ effective December 31, 2021.

    All NYSED official passing subtest scores from the TASC Test™, 2014-2021, and prior GED scores, from 2002, will continue to be applicable toward current High School Equivalency subtest requirements."